Sign in to follow this  

Physicists Francois Englert Of Belgium And Peter Higgs Of Britain Won The 2013 Nobel Prize In Physics

Recommended Posts

Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs won the 2013 Nobel Prize For Physics on Tuesday for their research into the Higgs boson particle, nicknamed the "God particle."


The award is given annually for the most important discovery or invention within the field of physics.

Englert, a Belgian theoretical physicist, and Higgs, a British physicist, earned the prestigious prize for "the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass subatomic particles" which was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider, the Nobel Prize Twitter feed reported.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this