The Big Bang Theory Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Stephen Hawking

50 year ago today.

Exactly 50 years ago, today, Neil Armstrong and Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin completed what John F Kennedy described as "the most hazardous and dangerous and greatest adventure on which man has ever embarked.

They came in peace, for all mankind.

On this 50th Anniversary, of this most momentous event, can we spare a moment, to remember those spacemen and women who lost their lives, in the pursuit of mankind's ultimate adventure?

Valentin Bondarenko

Vladimir Komarov

Gus Grissom

Edward White

Roger Chaffey

Georgy Dobrovolsky

Vladislav Volkov

Viktor Patsayev

Dick Scobee

Mike Smith

Judith Resnik

Ron McNair

Ellison Onizuka

Christa McAuliffe

Greg Jarvis

Rick Husband

Michael Anderson

David Brown

Kalpana Chawla

Laurel Clark

William McCool

Ilan Ramon

R.I.P.

Edited by Stephen Hawking
  • Like 3

Good thing to mention. They were pioneers. We should remember.

I was a student teacher in 1969. The staff moved all the children - aged 7 to 11 - into the assembly hall where classes watched the television. They were about to see something significant they could tell their own children and grandchildren - something tremendous in the history of the world, they were told. 

Schools usually had just the one TV in those days. They were enormous things, designed to be watched by groups the size of a small cinema crowd. They were on tall trolleys that took two male teachers to push. Colour TV had hardly been invented and hadn't reached those monsters. The smaller children sat on the floor.